Technology

I was sitting at the kitchen table tonight playing with my two nephews who are seven and four. What struck me was that we were playing on our iPads. Watching them both play rather skilled hand-eye coordination, puzzle, number, and words games made me think about technology and how it has impacted our lives.

This is kind of humorous as I sit here typing this blog on my iPad using a bluetooth keyboard, with my iPhone plugged in beside me, and a FitBit on my wrist. All three of which are synced and sharing data instantly between them. And that gives me pause as I consider just how embedded to these tools.

Remember the days when a phone was used for something as silly as making phone calls. Not to age myself too much, but I had a bag phone. And for those of you who have no idea what I am talking about, go ask your parents. Now, my phone keeps my calendar, my contacts, notes, photos, and a myriad of other apps that I use every day.

It is amazing not just the technology that is now in such a small package – unless you have one of those huge Samsung phones – but how integrated our lives have become with the technology. We walk around with our phones in our hands, purses, or pockets and most of us would be lost without them. I can get as much work done on my iPad as I can get done on your average laptop.

But what happens when we forget them, or heaven forbid forget to charge them. Admit it – how many of us have freaked out when we realize we don’t have it and drive ten minutes back to get it. It makes me wonder if we could actually disconnect for a day? An hour?

I think we should all try it. Maybe sit outside in the sun and listen to the birds chirping and the bees buzzing, instead of music. Or maybe watch the flowers and grass blow in the breeze instead of reading that new eBook. I wonder if I can actually do it, ignoring all technology. Certainly don’t need to watch the Phillies lose another bad game.

Tell you what, let me know if you unplug and we can compare notes.

2 thoughts on “Technology

  1. Somehow I don’t see either one of us completely unplugging for even a day.

    Like

Leave a Reply

