Winter has arrived

For those of you who know me, you may know I love Disney World. And for my poor wife, any time we talk about vacations I always suggest “someplace warm”. So, when she says “hey, let’s to Iceland” my response is always “but, it’s cold there!” So you can imagine my thrill last night.

We were getting ready to head upstairs for bed when my wife looked out the window and all I heard was “oh come on!”. It snowed – it’s like we got feet. Ok, so it barely stuck to anything, except for the patio furniture and the cars. But, it SNOWED. Now, I don’t mind the snow at all. It’s beautiful really, and can change a dreary, damp landscape into a pristine, peaceful thing of beauty.

It’s the cold. I am just not a fan of being cold. I much prefer the sun shining, and the heat levels to be way up there. Short sleeves, shorts, sandals. That’s my choice for getting dressed – not jeans, heavy socks, boots, shirts, sweaters, jackets, gloves, and scarves. Sorry, just not my ideal situation. But, I live here in the northeast so I have to deal with it.

I was “debating” the weather change with a friend who is a skier – like my father-in-law who goes to Vail every year. Or my wife who grew up on skis, they love this, and the earlier the better. One of these years I will try it, and when I do, I hope no one laughs too hard. I like speed – just check my driving – but I also like stopping. So, I know there are skiers saying thanks to the snow Gods.

This morning, the snow had all but gone, but the air was cold, crisp, and smelled of winter. I love when people say that because I have no idea what winter or snow smells like. But, it is there in there in the air. You take a deep breath and you are bound to say – “yup, smells like snow.”

I won’t lie to you – my car has a remote starter so it’s very nice to get in and have it at least somewhat warmed up. Standing on the platform there is no remote starter, so the cold wind blowing across the open space can be pretty chilling. But, this morning it was just crisp. Even the sky is a nice “winter blue”. I am sure that color ranks up there with “smells like snow”, but that’s the best way I can describe it.

One of the comments I saw last night was that this is just the changing of the seasons, and I thought of my friends and family in Florida (other than Goofy). I wonder if they miss that part of fall and winter? I doubt they miss the cold – but what about the change? There is no denying the beauty of the leaves changing from that perfect green to so many amazing colors. Or, even the white stuff coating the ground and the cars.

Yesterday when I rode the train across the bridge, the fog was so thick you could not see the river or any of the buildings. This morning it is crisp and clear, and you can see everything so well. The reds and yellows and oranges of the trees seem much brighter this morning.

Not to take a slim covering of snow as an excuse to get philosophical, but maybe this is God’s way of reminding us that this is an important facet of life. That we all have to have our clear days, our foggy days, our snow covered nights, the warm sun, and the cold air. Symbolic of our lives, it reminds us that change is not just inevitable, but an important part of who and what we are.

I happen to have a Nina Simone song on my iPhone called “Feeling Good and the chorus fits this well. Something to keep in mind from time to time “It’s a new dawn, it’s a new day, it’s a new life for me. And I’m feeling good.” It doesn’t mean that everything has to change. Just that each day is a chance to do what makes me happy. A chance to do what makes us all happy. So – forget the snow and the cold and just be happy!

One thought on “Winter has arrived

  1. My favorite season is fall. But there is something magical about the first snowfall of the season. Thanks for following my blog. I appreciate it.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

